Currently reading:
Challenge Submission The Three Evictions

Double Plus Ungood

TETSURATTO 6629 2607 1175
Local time
Today 1:14 PM
Pronouns
God. Thought Criminal.
The Three Evictions (The Three Little Pigs as Noir/Crime genre)

It was a few years after "The War". It was the end of the first month of "June Gloom" in the City of Saint Francis, San Francisco. I'd signed my lease for office space in the Hallidaie Building last September, appreciating the view from the outer hallways which were bordered by safety glass all sides of the six floor building. For the last month and likely for the next two months the visibility out of these windows would be zero, just thick dark gray fog. My small little office was on the third floor. If you're in the market to have something found, or found out, the name on my office reads "Gus Valdez. Private Investigator."

Since I work as an "independent contractor", my hours are very flexible. This morning, if you could tell it was morning through all of the damp gray, I was walking into my office just before eleven o'clock. I smiled at my secretary, all five feet and ninety-seven pounds of her. Auburn haired, trim, fair skinned, clear complexioned, today sporting her favorite red beret and a kelly green skirt suit, Belle Cavalière was both great at her job and extremely easy on the eyes. At those times when we stood next to each other, at six-foot-six and two hundred forty pounds, I towered over her. My own hair was black, peppered with some gray, even under my clothes as I was a bit on the hirsute, plus I needed a haircut for the stuff on top. I was sporting three days of beard since my last shave, too. Today I was sporting mostly gray: fedora, duster coat, suit and tie. What wasn't gray were the white shirt, the black leather belt, black socks and black wingtip shoes.